|  |  | 

Tennis Top Stories

Ambode, Other Dignitaries To Grace Closing Ceremony, As 17th Governor’s Cup Tennis Ends In Lagos

. Ambode awarding prize to 2016 winner

Executive Governor of Lagos State, Mr Akinwumi Ambode is expected to grace the closing ceremony, as the 17th Governor’s Cup Lagos Tennis Championship comes to a close on Saturday at the Lagos Lawn Tennis Club, Onikan.

Ambode will lead members of the State Executive Council to the venue to watch the final of the competition.  The curtains on the International Tennis Federation (ITF) approved pro circuit competition, which served off since 6 October, will be drawn by the the Governor and his entourage.
The Governor is expected to watch the final of the men’s singles between Johan Sebastien Tatlot of France and Serbian Pedja Krstin,  which starts by 3pm on the Centre Court of the Lagos Lawn Tennis Club.
Tatlot, number 7 seed upset top seed, Prajnesh Gunneswaran of India in straight set of 6-3,7-6 in the semi final match played on Friday, while Pedja, number 3 seed recorded another upset when he defeated number 2 seed, Egyptian Karim-Mohamed Maamoun.
Earlier before the men’s singles, the women’s singles final between Israeli Deniz khazaniuk and Swiss Conny Perrin would have been played by 1pm. Khazaniuk had in Friday’s semi final match defeated Ayla Aksu from Turkey 6-4,5-7,6-2,while Perrin overpowered France’s Estelle Casino in straight set of 6-1 6-3.
Tournament Director, Prince Wale Oladunjoye said that the tournament this year has been so exciting and has lived up to expectations with record numbers of entries across the world.
According to him, the final ceremony would as usual be fun filled with the attendance of Governor Ambode, Special Adviser on Sports to the Governor, Mr Deji Tinubu, members of Lagos State Sports Commission,  officials of Nigeria Tennis Federation, management and members of the Lagos Lawn Tennis Club, management staff of sponsor companies, school children and tennis enthusiasts in Lagos State.
Tinubu further said invitations have also been sent to different clubs in the metropolis to grace the final ceremony of the 17th Governor’s Cup.


Related Articles