|  |  |  |  |  |  | 

Africa All sport Football Top Stories Trending World

Ronaldo, Messi, Modric Make Shortlist For 2018 FIFA Best Player

The world football governing body has released the top 10 footballers shortlisted for the annual Best Men’s Player.

The nominee list was released after the end of crunching world cup tournament.

The 10 shortlisted players all appeared at the football mundial in Russia and helped their teams in their various capacity.

This year’s shortlist has the two best players in the world, Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi.

Both players are in pole position to land the award after an impressive outing at their respective clubs, with Messi winning two trophies with Barcelona and Ronaldo assisting Real Madrid to retain the UEFA Champions League title.

Also among the 10 players are World Cup winners, Antoine Griezmann, Kylian Mbappe and Raphael Varane.

The trio youngsters were impactful in ensuring France overcame Croatia in the final of the tournament.

Playmaker, Luka Modric, also made the shortlist after guarding Croatia to the final of the World Cup in Russia. This came after a spectacular performance with Real Madrid to help the team lift the UEFA Champions League.

Belgium and English Premier League stars, Eden Hazard and Kevin De Bruyne, both enjoyed a wonderful outing both at the club, Chelsea FC, and Manchester City respectively and finished third place in the World Cup.

Harry Kane and Mohammed Salah completed the list. Both players were instrumental for their club sides, Tottenham and Liverpool FC respectively.

The English star finished as the top scorer of the tournament with 6 goals.

On the other hand, Salah endured a woeful outing as Egypt crashed out of the tournament at the first round.

One of the 10 players would fancy their chance to lift the award, which will be presented at The Best FIFA Football Awards™ ceremony in London on 24 September 2018.

See full list of the Best FIFA Men’s Player:

  1. Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid CF/Juventus FC);
  2. Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium,/Manchester City FC);
  3. Antoine Griezmann (France/Atlético Madrid);
  4. Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea FC);
  5. Harry Kane (England/Tottenham Hotspur FC);
  6. Kylian Mbappé (France/Paris Saint-Germain FC);
  7. Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona);
  8. Luka Modrić (Croatia/Real Madrid CF);
  9. Mohamed Salah (Egypt/Liverpool FC);
  10. Raphaël Varane (France/Real Madrid CF).

Go to Fifa.com to vote. Voting closes on 10 August 2018.

Drop your winner in the comment box.



Related Articles