|  |  |  | 

Football Top of the Week Trending

NFF joins the Anti Corruption bandwagon

ACTU swearing

ICPC officials pose with NFF officials at the inauguration of ACTU

In what looks like an attempt to join the Anti-Corruption train as it is the most fashionable thing to do in this present time in Africa’s most populous country Nigeria,an Anti-Corruption and Transparency Unit has been inaugurated in the Nigeria Football Association.

 At a ceremony that had the Acting Chairman of the  Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission (ICPC) represented by Mr Ota Okorie an assistant  commissioner in attendance but saw key decision makers in the Federation absent, the ICPC believes the Anti-corruption unit inauguration is a way to engender transparency in a body that has a history of sleaze. 


The ICPC boss added that the NFF’s role in “organizing domestic and international football is crucial to the promotion of unity within the Nigerian Nation and the world at large” and that “the ICPC through the ACTU seeks to implement a three –dimensional approach towards entrenching ideals in the workplace; as derived from its mandates of Prohibition and Prevention of corruption as well as enlisting and enlightening public servants on and against the ills of corruption.”


Co-incidentally, the inauguration of the ACTU is coming at a time  the country is participating in the money spinning FIFA WORLD CUP  which Russia is hosting in June/July 2018- a litmus test is for the Federation which is always bedeviled with corruption scandals before,during and after the Football event every four years.


NFF General Secretary, Dr. Mohammed Sanusi, who is a subject of an administrative probe by a committee which is yet to publish its report on the allegation of  dereliction of duty which almost cost Nigeria her World Cup place also pledged that the Federation would fully support and co-operate with the ACTU.


Barrister Okey Obi, the head of the Federation’s Legal Unit will Chair the ACTU with others like Miss Ruth David, Dr. Christian Emeruwa, Mr. Wale Adeyinka, Mr. Rajan Zaka and Alhaji Magaji Abdullahi while Mr. Ayo Olu-Ibidapo is the secretary.




Related Articles