|  |  |  | 

Commonwealth Games 2018 Top Stories Trending

Commonwealth Games 2018: Nigeria bows to classy Indians in Table Tennis

Team Nigeria :Bode Abiodun,Seun Omotayo,Segun Toriola

Nigeria’s Table Tennis mens team ambition of winning the country’s first gold medal at the on going 2018 Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast,Australia suffered a huge set back as they lost buy 3-0 to the Indian men’s team who matched the historic feat of their women’s team by clinching the Men’s Team Gold.

Team Nigeria had produced one of the most amazing upsets in the semifinals against the odds by beating the favorites for the Gold England 3-2 in one of the most dramatic matches ever seen.

The Indian team represented by Sharath Kamal ACHANTA, Sathiyan GNANASEKARAN and Harmeet DESAI were too strong for a heroic Nigerian team in the final, claiming victory 3-0 to add the gold medal to the one that they won in 2006 in Melbourne.

Sharath Kamal ACHANTA, who set the scene for India, defeating Abiodun BODE 4-11, 11-5, 11-4, 11-9, stated: “I really was surprised in the first game how well Bode played, I made mistakes receiving his service and he had no problems with my service. From the second game onwards I changed my services, I served more to his backhand, not middle forehand and made sure I was the first to attack. At 10-7 in the fourth game I saw the winning post, I was rushing so at 10-9 I took the “Time Out”. I think we were lucky, it good we didn’t play Nigeria in the morning and of course we were fortunate Quadri Aruna did not play.”

Sathiyan GNANASEKARAN, who put India up 2-0 by beating Segun TORIOLA 10-12, 11-3, 11-3, 11-4 in the singles, before teaming up with Harmeet DESAI to finish the job in the doubles 11-8, 11-5, 11-3 .

A visibly disappointed England bounced back strongly against Singapore in the bronze medal play-off.

The 2016 World Team Table Tennis Championships bronze medallists, added another bronze to their collection, by defeating Singapore 3-0 to match their women’s team performance yesterday.

The preliminary for the individual events begin tomorrow, 10 April 2018!



Related Articles