|  |  | 

Africa Top Stories

Aiteo/CAF Awards 2017: Egypt’s Salah Emerges Africa’s Best As Oshoala Retains Women’s Player of the Year Crown

. Mohamed Salah holding his 2017 BBC African best player award

Liverpool and Egypt forward Mohamed Salah has beaten the likes of Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Liverpool teammate Sadio Mane to win the 2017 Aiteo/CAF African Player of the Year Award, while Nigeria’s Super Falcons striker, Asisat Oshoala retained her crown as the Africa’s Women Player at a ceremony held in UTC Accra, Ghana’s capital on Thursday night.

Salah was voted the best for his role in helping his country, Egypt qualified for the 2018 FIFA World 28 years after. He also had a fantastic season with his Premier League club Liverpool in the process. Sadio Mane came second while former winner, Aubameyang was placed third.

French-born Gabonese forward Aubameyang won the Africa’s top football honour in 2015, beating four-time winner Ivorian Yaya Toure and Ghana’s Andre Dede Ayew to the award in Abuja, Nigeria.

On her own part, Nigeria’s Asisat Osoala retained her African Women Player award after finishing as Chinese Super League top scorer, helping her club Delian Quanjian FC win double and also with 12 goals in the league. Oshoala is picking the award for the third time in 2014, 2016 ans 2017 respectively.

Other winners include Youth Player of the Year Patson Daka, Egyptian national team coach Hector Cuper beat Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr to win the Coach of the Year  award, while the Egyptian national team also won the Team of the Year Award. Club of the Year award goes to Moroccan champion Wydad Casablanca for beating Egyptian giants Al Ahly to lift the 2017 Total/CAF Champions League.

South Africa picked the Women’s National Team of the Year award ahead of Nigeria’s women’s U-20 team, the Falconets. The Leader of the Year Award goes to Mauritania’s Ahmed Yahya,while Ibrahim Sunday won the Legend Award.

The event was anchored by former Chelsea star and Cote d’Ivoire legend Didier Drogba and South African ace broadcaster Carol Tshabalala. CAF President, Ahmad Ahmad gave his opening speech and followed by Ghana’s President Nana Akufo-Addo speech.

Meanwhile, Nigeria’s Junior Ajayi was selected in the CAF’s best 11 players in Africa in 2017.


2017 Aiteo/CAF Awards Winners:

African Player of the Year: Mohamed Salah

Women’s Player of the Year: Asisat Oshoala

Youth Player of the Year: Patson Daka

Coach of the Year: Hector Cuper

National Team of the Year: Egypt

Club of the Year: Wydad Casablanca

Leader of the Year Award: Ahmed Yahya

Women’s National Team of the Year:  South Africa

Legend Award: Ibrahim Sunday


Africa Best 11 Players:

Ayman Mathlouthi (GK)

Ali Maaloul (DF)
Eric Baily (DF)
Ahmed Fathy (DF)

Achraf Karim Bencharki (MF)
Karim Ilahmandi (MF)
Junior Ajayi (MF)
Mohammed Ounnajem (MF)

Khalid Boutalib (FWD)
Tahayassin Khemessi (FWD)
Mo Salah (FWD)




Related Articles