|  |  | 

Nigeria Top Stories

2018 CHAN Qualifier: Yusuf Picks Ezenwa, Odey,18 Others For Squirrels Clash, As Team Hit Cotonou By Road On Friday 

. CHAN Eagles players in training

Home-based Super Eagles coach, Salisu Yusuf has invited FC Ifeanyi Ubah goalkeeper and team’s captain, Ikechukwu Ezenwa, defenders Orji Kalu and Osas Okoro, midfielders Alhassan Ibrahim and Ifeanyi Ifeanyi, forwards Stephen Odey and Ifeanyi George, including 13 others for Sunday’s 2018 African Nations Championship (CHAN) qualifier away to Benin Republic.

Others invited on the list are goalkeepers, Dele Ajiboye, Theophilus Afelokhai, defenders, Chima Akas, Ariwachukwu Emmanuel, Stephen Eze and Nasiru Sani.

midfielders include, Rabiu Ali Hafiz Aremu, Raphael Ayagwa and Samuel Mathias  and forwards Thomas Zenke, Sikiru Olatubosun and Kingsley Eduwo complete the list of the players that will fly from Kano to Lagos on Friday, before hitting Cotonou by road same day.

The Confederation of African Football has appointed Algerian referee Mustapha Ghorbal to take charge of proceedings at the Stade de l’Amitie on Sunday, starting from 4pm. He will be assisted by compatriots Mokrane Gourari (Assistant Referee 1), Mohammed Serradj (Assistant Referee 2) and Said Aquina (Reserve Referee).

After Nigeria failed to reach the finals of the first two editions of the competition exclusively reserved for footballers plying their trade in their countries’ domestic Leagues, the Super Eagles won the bronze medals at the third edition in 2014. The team however failed to qualify for the fourth edition in Rwanda early last year.

The return leg will hold at the Sani Abacha Stadium, Kano on Saturday, 19th August, with the winner qualifying for the 5th African Nations Championship scheduled for Kenya early next year.

20 Eagles For Cotonou:

Goalkeepers: Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah); Theophilus Afelokhai (Enyimba FC); Dele Ajiboye (Plateau United)

Defenders: Orji Kalu (Rangers International); Stephen Eze (FC IfeanyiUbah); Ariwachukwu Emmanuel (Akwa United); Chima Akas (Enyimba FC); Nasiru Sani (Katsina United); Osas Okoro (Rangers International)

Midfielders: Hafiz Aremu (Akwa United); Raphael Ayagwa (Lobi Stars); Ifeanyi Ifeanyi (Akwa United); Rabiu Ali (Kano Pillars); Samuel Mathias (El-Kanemi Warriors); Alhassan Ibrahim (Akwa United)

Forwards: Sikiru Olatubosun (MFM FC); Thomas Zenke (Nasarawa United); Stephen Odey (MFM FC); Kingsley Eduwo (Lobi Stars); Ifeanyi George (Rangers International)



Related Articles